What is the Most Iconic Pro Sports Trophy to win?

Total Views : 211
Zoom In Zoom Out Read Later Print

What is the most iconic Pro sports trophy to win? by John Cardullo

What is the most iconic Pro sports trophy to win?

by John Cardullo, sports writer, RI News Today

The New England sports fan has seen over the past 11 years, all the four Professional Championship trophies land and reside with their favorite Boston based team. The Boston Celtics lead the pack by collecting the NBA Championship 17 times. The NBA originally called the award the Walter A. Brown trophy up until 1977 when it was redesigned to its current look, a basketball hanging on the edge of a basketball rim plated in gold. The trophy was renamed after longtime NBA Commissioner Larry O’Brien who presented the award to the NBA Champions until he retired. Larry O’Brien passed away in 1990 but the NBA Championship Award still bears his name and is awarded every year.

After an 89-year drought, the Boston Red Sox shattered the Curse of the Bambino when they won the 2004 World Series Championship when the beat the St. Louis Cardinals, then they did it again in 2007 when they defeated the Colorado Rockies, and again in 2013 by downing the St. Louis Cardinals again and the Red Sox took care of the Los Angeles Dodgers to claim the 2018 World Series Championship. The Red Sox have won the World Series Championship a total of 9 times, the current trophy is simply known as the Commissioner’s Trophy. This 30-pound award is 2 feet from its base to the highest point, it is 11 inches in diameter made from sterling silver and features 30 gold plated flags which represents each of the 30 major league baseball franchises. The original trophy was first awarded to the winning team in 1967, it was redesigned to its current form in 1999.

The Boston Bruins hockey club has won Lord Stanley’s cup 6 times. They first won the cup in 1929 they beat the New York Rangers for their first Stanley Cup championship. In 1939 the Bruins topped the Toronto Maple Leafs to claim their 2nd Stanley Cup. In 1941 the Detroit Red Wings fell to the Bruins The 1970 saw Bobby soar to score the winning goal over the St. Louis Blues winning their 4th Stanley Cup and in 1972 the Bruins and the New York Ranger squared off again, with the Bruins coming out on top. In 2011 beating the Vancouver Canucks (and as of this writing, the Bruins will be facing off for game 7 of this year’s championship against the St. Louis Blues).

The Stanley Cup stands over 3 feet tall and weighs 34 . pounds. It’s made from nickel and silver. The name of each player on the winning team is engraved along the barrel (there is 2,528 names total on the current cup), the Stanley Cup was first awarded to the 1906-07 Montreal Wanderers but it wasn’t until 1924 when the tradition to engrave the names of the winning team began. The Cup or bowl that sits on top of the award that currently four smaller “neck rings” and 5-barrel rings that run into the base, a new base ring is added when space is needed after the engravings has been depleted. One unique tradition of the Stanley Cup is each member of the winning team gets to possess the award for one full day in the off season making some of the stories part of history. Such as the bowl being used for a player’s child’s christening, or the cup being located on a city gutter after the player “celebrated” too much and forgot that he had the cup with him.

Then finally there is the Vincent Lombardi Trophy which the New England Patriots have won 6 times. Since 2001 when the Patriots upset the heavily favored St. Louis Rams (are you sensing a trend with taking championships from St. Louis?) 2003 the Patriots defeated the Carolina Panthers and went on to defend their title by beating the Philadelphia Eagles in 2004. In 2014 the Patriots took on the Seattle Seahawks and won the Super Bowl on an interception at the goal line. In 2016 the Patriots were losing 28-3 to the Atlanta Falcons, only to overcome a 25-point deficit winning the Super Bowl in the game’s first overtime. The 2018 Super Bowl championship came at the expense (again) of the St. Louis Rams.

The Vince Lombardi trophy stands almost 2 feet tall and weighs 7 pounds. It depicts a football in a kicking position on a three concave sided stand and is made entirely of sterling silver. It has Vincent Lombardi’s name and the NFL logo engrave on the base; the design has been relatively the same since Super Bowl one when the Green Bay Packers beat the Kansas City Chiefs in 1967. The only notable damage on record for the trophy was in 2019 when the New England Patriots helped the Boston Red Sox open the 2029 season and to celebrate the City’s World Series and Super Bowl wins, recently retired Patriot tight end Rob Gronkowski during a pre-game photo shoot used the Super Bowl Trophy as a bat and dented the Lombardi trophy- leave it to Gronk!

The question is, to you the fan, which one of these four iconic professional sports awards is the most coveted to win? If you can select one to have, which one would it be? In New England it really doesn’t matter, since 2001 the tally is this 6 NFL Super Bowls, 4 MLB World Series championships and 1 NBA Title, finally 1 NHL (possibly 2) by Thursday morning. This is a total of 12 (possibly 13). Anyway that you turn  - you win!

Photo credit: Fox Sports